Senate Confirms Appointment Of Service Chiefs

March 2, 2021

The Senate has confirmed the appointment of the newly appointed Service Chiefs.

They are Chief of Defence Staff, Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Air Staff Air Vice-Marshal Isiaka Oladayo Amao, Chief of Naval Staff Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo, Chief of Army Staff General Ibrahim Attahiru.

After the confirmation on Tuesday, Senate President Ahmad Lawan advised the new service chiefs to take the insurgency war to the terrorists and bandits and dislodge them from their enclaves.

He reminded them to be conscious of the fact that Nigerians expect a lot from them to address the security problems confronting the country.

Their confirmation comes barely a week after the House of Representatives confirmed their appointment.

President Muhammadu Buhari had appointed the new service chiefs on January 26, following the resignation of the former officers.

There had been numerous calls for the sack of the former service chiefs over the increasing insecurity in the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *