Ekiti State House of Assembly Approve 14 commissioners

August 26, 2020

Ekiti State House of Assembly last Tuesday received the list of the nominees, with names of the commissioner-nominees revealed on the floor of the House, while the identities of those nominated as special advisers were concealed.

The Assembly has approved seven commissioner and seven special adviser-nominees sent to it by Governor Kayode Fayemi.

The motion for the approval was moved by Chief Gboyega Aribisogan, Majority Leader and seconded by Mr. Deji Ajayi, representing Use/Orun Constituency.

The lawmakers unanimously confirmed the nominees during a plenary presided over by Speaker Funminiyi Afuye yesterday.

The commissioner-nominees included former Ekiti Labour Party Chairman, Mr. Akin Omole (Oye Ekiti), Chief Oladiran Adesua (Ekiti East) , Dr.  Olabimpe Aderiye (Ido/Osi), Alhaja Maryam Ogunlade (Emure).

Others were Dr. Oyebanji Filani (Ikole), Olabode  Adetoyi  (Moba) and Mrs. Iyabo Fakunle-Okhieme (Ilejemeje).

The lawmakers asked the nominees questions bordering on their professional competence, experience and capacity to serve the state.

The questions were hinged on the need for food security during post COVID-19 pandemic. Afuye, who congratulated the nominees, said those nominated justified their being listed for executive council (exco) positions.

He advised them to work cordially with the governor to better the lot of the state and strengthen the existing relationship between the executive and the legislative arms of the government.

The House also confirmed Mr. Febisola Adewale as Commissioner, Ekiti Local Government Service Commission and Prof. Femi Akinwumi as Chairman, Ekiti Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB).The House adjourned till tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *